Coding

• 1.  Office visit codes

Posted 02-22-2024 10:28

I have been a Practice Manager for some time but am new to the specialty.  What is the typical percentage for office visit codes for MFM docs

------------------------------
    Pam Keeney

• 2.  RE: Office visit codes

Posted 02-23-2024 14:28

Hello,

It depends on the practice specifics. In most cases, the distribution would follow a bell shape curve.

Fadi

Fadi Bsat, MD, FAIUM
    Past Chair, SMFM Practice Management Committee
    Past Chair, SMFM Coding Committee

• 3.  RE: Office visit codes

Posted 02-23-2024 17:51

A past history question of this answer would follow very closely to what Fadi's as below.  You can look that up at this link.  This is for free on the S MFM website- https://s3.amazonaws.com/cdn.smfm.org/media/1389/Slides.pdf

This question is also very different based upon the type of coding method that you utilize.  If you utilize a time-based method, which I do not recommend, it will appear more like Fadi's response below.  I think most people now are moving towards medical decision making type of consultation which does not require physical exam except for variables of importance to the assessment and plan.  If you do that, most of the patients that we take care of as consultants have moderate or high decision making complexity and hence would end up being over 04/14 for or 05/15 codes.  Hence I think the pattern should be more skewed towards the higher level exam codes.  I would generally believe that maybe 75 to 90% of the coding should be billed in this region in my opinion.

Brian Iriye

• 4.  RE: Office visit codes

Posted 02-24-2024 09:41
      |   view attached